Ima Robot

Ima Robot formed in the late 1990s, after vocalist Alex Ebert’s band The Lucky 13’s broke up, and became successful in the early 2000s after signing with Virgin Records. The band’s other original members were Timmy "the Terror" Anderson, Oligee, Justin Meldal-Johnsen, and the prolific studio drummer Joey Waronker. Meldal-Johnsen and Waronker were sought-after musicians who had played with Beck before joining Ima Robot. Their first full-length album released on September 6, 2003, was self-titled Ima Robot, and featured the singles "Dynomite" and "Song #1" (released in the UK only). The band toured with artists such as Hot Hot Heat, The Von Bondies, Hoobastank, The Sounds and others.

In 2004 Waronker and Oligee left the band, and Meldal-Johnsen followed in 2005, with former Oleander drummer Scott Devours taking over drumming duties, Filip Nikolic taking over on bass and Andy Marlow taking over on keyboards. On September 12, 2006, Ima Robot released their second album Monument to the Masses which featured the singles "Creeps Me Out" and "Lovers in Captivity". In June 2008, Lars Vognstrup joined the group, having previously played with Nikolic in the band Junior Senior. In April 2007, the band won their independence from Virgin Records and continued to work unsigned under the management of Alexis Rivera of Echo Park Records. The song "Gangster" premiered on the band’s MySpace on April 15, 2008, with its lyrics posted in a blog entry by the band.[2] In 2010 the band announced the upcoming release of their new album, Another Man’s Treasure, and released the song "Ruthless" on the Internet. They are now being represented by the Werewolf Heart label.[3] On January 6th 2011, The banded played six songs live on KCRW’s Morning Becomes Eclectic . This was the first time since Monument To The Masses tours that the new full banded played live. They added Orpheo McCord (of Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros, Fool’s Gold), Jason ‘ComputerJay’ Taylor, and Jonas Petri Megyessi.

Get Adobe Flash player